INDYCAR Previews

Preview – 2020 INDYCAR Harvest GP at IMS

By Dylan Reynolds, The Open Wheel

The INDYCAR season continues this weekend with the NTT INDYCAR SERIES INDYCAR Harvest GP on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course in Speedway, Indiana. The Open Wheel will be covering the action all weekend so stay tuned to this site and our Twitter page @openwh33l for all of the latest news.


Photo by Parker Hall/The Open Wheel

Weekend ScheduleR1 Spotter GuideR2 Spotter GuideCircuit Map

NTT INDYCAR SERIES Preview: INDYCAR Harvest GP – Race 1 Friday, October 2, 2020 3:30PM (ET) USA & Race 2 Saturday, October 3, 2020 2:30PM (ET) NBC – The big story line of the weekend has to be the surprising number of driver changes since the last event at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Bourdais is back in the series in the AJ Foyt Racing No. 14 for the rest of this season and next while Kellett shifts to the sporadically entered No. 41. Veach is out with Hinchcliffe in the Andretti Autosport No. 26 for the rest of the season. Castroneves is a medical substitute for Askew in the Arrow McLaren SP No. 7 for this weekend. Karam and Dreyer & Reinbold Racing are back this weekend in the No. 24.

Previous driver experience at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course shows three former winners in the field in Simon Pagenaud (3), Will Power (3), and Scott Dixon (1). The active Top 5 in laps led at the venue are Power (210), Pagenaud (68), Dixon (66), Graham Rahal (36), and Josef Newgarden (25). The two most recent winners are Dixon and Pagenaud. Looking at the box scores from the last two INDYCAR races in July 2020 and May 2019, only Dixon and Pagenaud have finished in the Top 5 in each of the last two races. If that’s expanded to the Top 10, that duo is joined by Rahal and Santino Ferrucci.

My picks to win: Will Power & Scott Dixon – Power is almost guaranteed to win the pole for one of these two races this weekend and finally got his terrible luck off his back with a dominant Race 1 win last time out at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Dixon is always in the mix in this race and will no doubt be eager to grab a win and cement his chances for a SIXTH NTT INDYCAR SERIES title.

My picks: Will Power, Graham Rahal, Jack Harvey, & Santino Ferrucci – You know my thoughts on Power. It’s hard to put a competitive lineup together with two of the absolute favorites, but Graham Rahal lives on or near the podium at this track. Jack Harvey has a couple great races and qualifying efforts at the venue and is well overdue for a big result this season. Ferrucci has back-to-back Top 10’s here is a good value pick to finish out your lineup..