INDYCAR Previews

Preview – 2022 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

By Dylan Reynolds,

The 2022 INDYCAR season continues with the NTT INDYCAR SERIES 2022 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio. will be covering the action all weekend so stay tuned to this site and our Twitter page @openwh33l for all of the latest news.

Photo by’s Parker Hall/Fly By Wire Photography

Weekend ScheduleEntry ListSpotter GuideCircuit MapTickets

Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires Preview: Indy Lights at Mid-Ohio (Entry List) – Sunday, July 3, 2022 10:30AM (ET) Peacock – Linus Lundqvist maintains a big lead in the championship after a fairly mediocre weekend by his standards at Road America but looks to rebound this week at a circuit where he won the season finale last year in Indy Lights. Andretti Autosport’s Kyle Kirkwood swept the other three races at Mid-Ohio last year so watch out for their stable of drivers as always this weekend.

NTT INDYCAR SERIES Preview: Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio – Sunday, July 3, 2022 12:30PM (ET) NBC – The NTT INDYCAR SERIES kicks off July 4th weekend at legendary Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for what should be an exciting weekend in a close championship race. The Top 5 in the championship are separated by less than 50 points as Marcus Ericsson leads Will Power, Josef Newgarden, Pato O’Ward, and Alex Palou.

Previous driver experience at Mid-Ohio shows eight former winners in the field in Scott Dixon (6), Helio Castroneves (2), Newgarden (2), Graham Rahal (1), Simon Pagenaud (1), Alexander Rossi (1), Power (1), and Colton Herta (1). Newgarden, Herta, and Power are the last three winners at the circuit. Looking at the box scores from 2021, 2020 Race 2 and 2020 Race 1, a few interesting observations can be found. Rossi finished in the Top 5 in all three races. Newgarden, Ericsson, and Rahal each finished in the Top 5 in two of the three races. Rossi, Newgarden, Dixon, and Rahal each finished in the Top 10 of all three races. The active Top 5 in laps led at the circuit are Dixon (261), Power (205), Newgarden (162), Rossi (71), and Herta (66).

My pick to win: Josef Newgarden – The only driver to win multiple races this season heads to a track he’s had plenty of success at and is back in the “lucky” PPG colors. How can you pick against Josef Newgarden at the moment?

My picks: Josef Newgarden $30, Marcus Ericsson $31, Kyle Kirkwood $19, & Callum Ilott $18  – You know my thoughts on Newgarden. Ericsson’s consistency has been stellar lately and this has been one of his better tracks. Kirkwood owned this track in the Road to Indy and provides good value at $19 if you want to front load your team with difficult pricing. Ilott and JHR have to get the finish their increased speed merits at some point, right?